burning_phoneix: (Default)
I don't know if I mentioned this before, but I'm a huge fan of Ace Combat. I'm talking about so huge that it's arguably my favourite game series of all time.

Well, things haven't been going good for me lately concerning that series; Ace Combat 6 was a let down (You want more than 16 planes? FUCK YOU BUY SOME IDOL M@STER SKINS FOR YOUR F-15 SILLY GAIJIN). HAWX was a nice diversion, an okay clone but just not the same and HAWX 2 is a horrid pile of dogshit.

So Namco are making a new Ace Combat but it's not Ace Combat 7! It's a "reinvention" of the series called Ace Combat: Assault Horizon that takes place in the real world rather than Ace Combat's normal fictional world. With stages like a beautifully recreated Dubai (complete with Burj Khalifa) and New York. But could the story be anymore cliche? With every trailer, the game apes more plot lines from Call of Duty. Here's the latest one:



If you didn't think "Markov? You mean Makarov from Modern Warfare 2?" Then you haven't played Call of Duty.

(the rest of the videos will be under a cut to spare you the scrolling)

Two more trailers here )

I'm not sold on the gameplay changes as well with this emphasis on close in dogfighting which is what made HAWX 2 a shitfest in the first place.

Do I have anything good to say about the game? Well the graphics look awesome an the music is as great and epic as always so I really want that limited edition soundtrack CD.

Please god don't let the game suck.

Profile

burning_phoneix: (Default)
burning_phoneix

June 2014

M T W T F S S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit